Thailand to Exemption and Temporary fee reduction scheme for Visa on Arrival (VoA) 2017/2560

Temporary tourist visa fee exemption and Visa on Arrival (VOA) fee reduction

Passport holders from the below 21 countries may apply for visas at the immigration checkpoints on
arrival for the purpose of tourism and will be granted to stay in Thailand for period not exceeding 15 days.

Visa on arrival can be applied at 42 designated international checkpoints and applicants should submit
a completed application form with a recent photograph.

By the Order of the Ministry of Interior date 28 February B.E. 2560(2017), starting from 1 March 2017 until 31 August 2017, Thailand will implement a temporary tourist visa fee exemption scheme and temporary Visa on Arrival (VOA) fee reduction scheme, which will apply for nationals of Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China including Taiwan, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, San Marion, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine and Uzbekistan, who hold passports/travel documents of the countries/territory of their nationalities.

Nationals of the said countries/territory will be entitled to :
– be exempted from visa fee when applying for Tourist Visa (single entry) to Thailand during the aforementioned period;
– pay a fee of 1,000 Baht (decreased from 2,000 Baht) when applying for Visa on Arrival at the designated immigration checkpoints during the aforementioned period.

The applicant must provide proof of means of living expenses at the amount of 10,000 Baht per person and
20,000 Baht per family accordingly.The applicant must possess a passport with at least 6 month validity and must present full paid onward
travel tickets which are usable within 15 days of the date of entry.

Visitors who enter the Kingdom with Visa on Arrival generally cannot file an application for extension of
stay, except in special cases of illness which prevents them from traveling. The application can be
submitted at the Office of Immigration Bureau, Immigration Division 1, Government Center B,
Chaengwattana Soi 7, Laksi, Bangkok 10210, Tel +66 (0) 2141-9889. Website

42 designated immigration checkpoints to apply for the VoA:

  • Suvarnabhumi Airport, Samut Prakarn
  • Don Muang International Airport, Bangkok
  • Chiangmai International Airport, Chiangmai
  • Phuket International Airport, Phuket
  • Hatyai Internation Airport, Shongkhla
  • U Tapao Airport, Rayong
  • Mae Sai Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  • Chiang Saen Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  • Chiang Khong Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  • Betong Immigration Checkpoint, Yala
  • Sadao Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  • Samui Airport, Surat Thani
  • Sukhothai International Airport, Tak Immigration Checkpoint
  • Bangkok Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Bangkok
  • Sri Racha Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
  • Mabtaput Immigration Checkpoint, Rayong
  • Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai
  • Samui Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
  • Phuket Immigration Checkpoint, Phuket
  • Satun Immigration Checkpoint, Satun
  • Krabi Immigration Checkpoint, Krabi
  • Songkhla Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Shongkhla
  • Chiangrai Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  • Surat Thani Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
  • Sattahip Habour Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
  • Khlong Yai Immigration Checkpoint, Trat
  • Pong Nam Ron Immigration Checkpoint, Chantaburi
  • Aranyaprathet Immigration Checkpoint, Sakaeo
  • Mukdahan Immigration Checkpoint, Mukdahan
  • Tak Immigration Checkpoint, Tak
  • Padang Besar Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  • Su-Ngai Kolok Immigration Checkpoint, Narathiwat
  • Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai
  • Bueng Kan Immigration Checkpoint, Bueng Kan
  • Phibun Mangsahan Immigration Checkpoint, Ubon Ratchathani
  • Tha Li Immigration Checkpoint, Loei
  • Nakhon Phanom Immigration Checkpoint, Nakhon Phanom
  • Nan Immigration Checkpoint, Nan
  • Ban  Prakob Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  • Khuan Don Immigration Checkpoint, Satun
  • Tak Bai Immigration Checkpoint, Narathiwat
  • Bukit Tal Immigration Checkpoint, Narathiwat

Featured Videos

Latest Tweets

Office Hours & Address

  • Chancery (1024 Wisconsin Ave NW Washington DC 20007)
    M - F 9:00 am - 12:30 pm
    & 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
  • Consular Office (2300 Kalorama Rd NW Washington DC 20008)
    M - F 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

    Thai Embassy's Public Holiday

Upcoming Embassy’s Holidays


Thai Time/ U.S. Time


  • Today Visit: 3,860
  • Total Visit: 2,306,310
Since June 7th, 2015